List of Indian States and Their Capitals

Have you ever ventured into the captivating beauty of India captivates visitors from all corners of the globe with its abundant qualities worth celebrating. India, a country celebrated for its vibrant cultural heritage and breathtaking landscapes, is a tapestry woven with diverse states and union territories. Each region showcases its distinctive traditions, languages, cuisine, and historical significance. In this blog, we will explore the list of Indian states and their capitals.

States and Capitals of India
India is the seventh-largest country in the world and the second-most populous country worldwide. There are 28 states and 8 union territories which make up this union of states in India. Districts and subdivisions have been added to the list of states and union territories.

India is a union of states, and the Governor, who represents the President, is the head of the executive branch in each state. The administrative, legislative, and judicial centers of each state in India are in their respective capitals.

             Largest and Smallest State of India

  • The largest state in India is Rajasthan with a 342,239 km² area of land, located in the northwestern part of the country.
  • The smallest state in India by area is Goa, which covers an area of approximately 3,702 square kilometers. It is situated on the western coast of the country.

    Highest and Lowest Population States in India
    Highest Populated State
  • Uttar Pradesh has been declared the most populous state, with a population of 19.06 crores.
  • The state covers 240,928 km2 (93,023 sq mi), which is 7.34% of the total area of our country.

    Lowest Populated State
  • The state of Sikkim has the lowest population in India. Sikkim has a population of 607,688. Hence, Sikkim is considered the least populous state in India.
  • Sikkim shares borders with three countries: China, Nepal, and Bhutan. As a result, Sikkim is crucial to the country’s geopolitics.

              List of Indian States and Their Capitals
The entire list of Indian states and their capitals can be found in the table given below. Each Indian state has its own unique culture, festivals, language, history, and demography.

Here are the states and capitals of India:

States  Capitals  States  Capitals 
Andhra Pradesh  Amaravati  Manipur  Imphal 
Arunachal Pradesh  Itanagar  Meghalaya  Shillong 
Assam  Dispur  Mizoram  Aizawl 
Bihar  Patna  Nagaland  Kohima 
Chhattisgarh  Raipur  Odisha  Bhubaneswar 
Goa  Panaji  Punjab  Chandigarh 
Gujarat  Gandhinagar  Rajasthan  Jaipur 
Haryana  Chandigarh  Sikkim  Gangtok 
Himachal Pradesh  Shimla  Tamil Nadu  Chennai 
Jharkhand  Ranchi  Telangana  Hyderabad 
Karnataka  Bengaluru (Bangalore)  Tripura  Agartala 
Kerala  Thiruvananthapuram  Uttar Pradesh   Lucknow 
Madhya Pradesh  Bhopal  Uttarakhand  Dehradun  
Maharashtra  Mumbai  West Bengal  Kolkata 

Union Territories of India

A sort of administrative division in the Republic of India is a union territory. Union territories are federal regions that are partially or entirely controlled by the Union Government of India, unlike the states of India, which have their own governments.

There are 8 union territories in India. On January 26, 2020, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu’s union territories were united into a single territory. Jammu and Kashmir lost its status as a state on October 31, 2019, and it became a union territory. Ladakh was made into a separate Union Territory and split off from Jammu & Kashmir.
The 8 Union territories of India are given below:

1. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu
2. Jammu & Kashmir
3. Ladakh
4. Chandigarh
5. Delhi
6. Puducherry
7. Lakshadweep
8. Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Three of the eight union territories in India—Delhi, Puducherry (formerly Pondicherry), and Jammu & Kashmir—have their own parliament. There is a capital for each union territory.

India is a diverse nation with 28 states and 8 union territories, each having its own unique identity and capital city. This list of Indian states and their capitals showcases the geographical and cultural richness of the country. India provides a vast variety of experiences to discover, from the hectic metropolises like Mumbai, Delhi, and Kolkata to the calm cities like Shimla, Thiruvananthapuram, and Jaipur. Understanding the capitals of these states helps in appreciating the regional diversity and the historical significance associated with each place. So, whether you’re a traveler, a student, or simply curious about India, this list serves as a gateway to discovering the remarkable tapestry of the Indian subcontinent.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the capital of India?
New Delhi is the capital of India. It is located on the west bank of the Yamuna River in the north-central part of the country. New Delhi is the seat of all three branches of the Indian government, namely Rashtrapati Bhavan, Sansad Bhavan, and the Supreme Court.

How many states are there in India?
India has 28 states, each with its own capital and headed by a Governor who is appointed by the President. The states are listed below:

Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Tripura, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal

How many states are there in south India?
South India consists of five states:

  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Karnataka
  • Kerala
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Telangana

    This will close in 0 seconds

    Contact to us